Coretta Scott King Award Winners

Given to African American authors and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream.

The award is designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

Congratulations to 2010 winner Vaunda Micheaux Nelson
for Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U. S. Marshal

Bad News for Outlaws
1970 | 1971 | 1972 | 1973 | 1974 | 1975 | 1976 | 1977 | 1978 | 1979 | 1980 | 1981 | 1982 | 1983 | 1984 | 1985 | 1986 | 1987
1988 | 1989 | 1990 | 1991 | 1992 | 1993 | 1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005
2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015

Year Winner (Title) Winner (Author)
2015 brown girl dreaming  Jacqueline Woodson  
2014 P.S. Be Eleven  Rita Williams-Garcia  
2014 Knock Knock: My Dad's Dream for Me  Daniel Beaty Illus. Bryan Collier  
2013 Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America  Andrea Davis Pinkney Illus. Brian Pinkney  
2012 Heart and Soul  Kadir Nelson  
2011 One Crazy Summer  Rita Williams-Garcia  
2010 Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal  Vaunda Micheaux Nelson  
2009 We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball  Kadir Nelson  
2008 Elijah of Buxton  Christopher Paul Curtis  
2008 Let it Shine  Illus. Ashley Bryan  
2007 Copper Sun  Sharon Draper  
2007 Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom  Illus. Kadir Nelson  
2006 Day of Tears: A Novel of Dialogue  Julius Lester  
2006 Rosa  Illus. Bryan Collier  
2005 Remember: The Journey to School Integration  Toni Morrison  
2005 Ellington Was Not a Street  Illus. Kadir Nelson  
2004 The First Part Last  Angela Johnson  
2004 Beautiful Blackbird  Illus. Ashley Bryan  
2003 Bronx Masquerade  Nikki Grimes  
2003 Talkin' About Bessie: The Story of Aviator Elizabeth Coleman  Illus. E.B. Lewis  
2002 The Land  Mildred D. Taylor  
2002 Goin' Someplace Special  Illus. Jerry Pinkney  
2001 Miracle's Boys  Jacqueline Woodson  
2001 Uptown  Illus. Bryan Collier  
2000 Bud, Not Buddy  Christopher Paul Curtis  
2000 In the Times of the Drums  Illus. Brian Pinkney  
1999 Heaven  Angela Johnson  
1999 i see the rhythm  Illus. Michele Wood  
1998 Forged by Fire  Sharon M. Draper  
1998 In Daddy's Arms I Am Tall: African Americans Celebrating Fathers  Illus. Javaka Steptoe  
1997 Slam!  Walter Dean Myers  
1997 Minty: A Story of Young Harriet Tubman  Illus. Jerry Pinkney  
1996 Her Stories  Virginia Hamilton  
1996 The Middle Passage: White Ships Black Cargo  Illus. Tom Feelings  
1995 Christmas in the Big House, Christmas in the Quarters  Patricia and Frederick McKissack  
1995 The Creation  Illus. James Ransome  
1994 Toning the Sweep  Angela Johnson  
1994 Soul Looks Back in Wonder  Illus. Bryan Collier  
1993 The Dark-Thirty: Southern Tales of the Supernatural  Patricia McKissack  
1993 The Origin of Life on Earth: An African Creation Myth  Illus. Kathleen Atkins Wilson  
1992 Now is Your Time: The African American Struggle for Freedom  Walter Dean Myers  
1992 Tar Beach  Illus. Faith Ringgold  
1991 The Road to Memphis  Mildred D. Taylor  
1991 Aida  Illus. Leo and Diane Dillon  
1990 A Long Hard Journey: The Story of the Pullman Porter  Patricia and Frederick McKissack  
1990 Nathaniel Talking  Illus. Jan Spivey Gilchrist  
1989 Fallen Angels  Walter Dean Myers  
1989 Mirandy and Brother Wind  Illus. Jerry Pinkney  
1988 The Friendship  Mildred D. Taylor  
1988 Mufaro's Beautiful Daughters: An African Tale  Illus. John Steptoe  
1987 Justin and the Best Biscuits in the World  Mildred Pitts Walter  
1987 Half a Moon and One Whole Star  Illus. Jerry Pinkney  
1986 The People Could Fly: American Black Folktales  Virginia Hamilton  
1986 The Patchwork Quilt  Illus. Jerry Pinkney  
1985 Motown and Didi  Walter Dean Myers  
1985 No award given   
1984 Everett Anderson's Goodbye  Lucille Clifton  
1984 My Mama Needs Me  Illus. Pat Cummings  
1983 Sweet Whispers, Brother Rush  Virginia Hamilton  
1983 Black Child  Illus. Peter Magubane  
1982 Let the Circle Be Unbroken  Mildred D. Taylor  
1982 Mother Crocodile: An Uncle Amadou Tale from senegal  Illus. John Steptoe  
1981 This Life  Sidney Poitier  
1981 Beat the Story-Drum, Pum-Pum  Illus. Ashley Bryan  
1980 The Young Landlords  Walter Dean Myers  
1980 Cornrows  Illus. Carole Byard  
1979 Escape to Freedom: A Play About Young Frederick Douglass  Ossie Davis  
1979 Something on My Mind  Illus. Tom Feelings  
1978 Africa Dream  Eloise Greenfield  
1978 Africa Dream  Illus. Carole Byard  
1977 The Story of Stevie Wonder  James Haskins  
1977 No award given   
1976 Duey's Tale  Pearl Bailey  
1976 No award given   
1975 The Legend of Africania  Dorothy Robinson  
1975 No award given   
1974 Ray Charles  Sharon Bell Mathis  
1974 Ray Charles  Illus. George Ford  
1973 I Never Had It Made: The Autobiography of Jackie Robinson  Jackie Robinson  
1973 Prior to 1974, the CSK Award was given to authors only   
1972 Seventeen Black Artists  Elton C. Fax  
1972 Prior to 1974, the CSK Award was given to authors only.   
1971 Black Troubador: Langston Hughes  Charlemae H. Rollins  
1971 Prior to 1974, the CSK Award was given to authors only.   
1970 Martin Luther King, Jr.: Man of Peace  Lillie Patterson  
1970 Prior to 1974, the CSK Award was given to authors only.