Book #54575

The Sign of the Book - 1st Edition/1st Printing

John Dunning

Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Fine in Near Fine dust jacket
Edition: First Edition; First Printing
Publisher: New York, London, ET AL: Scribner, 2005.
ISBN: 0743255054

Price: $33.75

A handsome first edition/first printing in Fine condition in a Near Fine dust-jacket that has some soiling.

In the tradition of J.D. Salinger and Raymond Carver, John Dunning's debut novel is the story of a young man's search for identity and meaning in a world that seems to be spinning out of control. Frank, a high school senior, is haunted by the death of his older brother, which he blames himself for. He spends his days wandering the streets of his small town and drinking with his equally aimless friends. One night, Frank comes across a half-forgotten copy of The Catcher in the Rye, which he finds inspiring. He decides to become a Holden Caulfield-like figure and sets out on a journey to find himself. Along the way, he meets a variety of characters, including a prostitute, a drug dealer, and a religious zealot, each of whom helps him to see the world in a new way. The Sign of the Book is a dark and moving exploration of the human condition, told with Dunning's distinctive and; 8vo; 353 pages; MR, Price check?