South Carolina

The colony of South Carolina was originally named by King Charles II after his father, Charles I, "Carolus" is Latin for Charles. It was originally settled by wealthy nobles, the majority of whom were from Barbados. The colony did not quite develop as planned, eventually splitting into North Carolina and South Carolina.

South Carolina was the first of the original thirteen colonies to declare independence from Britain. It was the first state to ratify the Articles of Confederation and the eighth to ratify the US Constitution.