National Book Award

The National Book Awards are among the most eminent literary prizes in the United States. Started in 1950, the awards are presented annually to American authors for literature published in the prior year. The purpose of the awards is “to raise the cultural appreciation of great writing in America.” Awards are given in each of four categories: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young people's literature. Awards have been given in various other categories, which have since been retired or subsumed into the remaining categories.