Ambassador Book Award

The Ambassador Book Award is given by the English Speaking Union once a year. The award is dedicated to significant literary works that contribute to the understanding and interpretation of life and culture in America. Award winners are considered literary ambassadors who provide the rest of the world an important window into America. Writers of fiction, biography, autobiography, current affairs, American studies, and poetry are all eligible for the Ambassador Book Award. Previous winners include Joan Didion, John Updike, Annie Proulx, and Philip Roth.